In Iraq, Christians and Yazidis suffer "ethnic cleansing"

Each week, the writing ofInfo Chrétienne offers you an article focusing on the situation of Christians in the world. Today Iraq.

Tim Stanley stood outside the British Parliament last week. Back from Iraq, in the Nineveh plain, the historian and columnist for the Telegraph wished to alert parliamentarians. For him, the Yazidis and the Christians undergo a " ethnic cleansing "

“If we do not say what is really going on in the region, which is the ethnic cleansing of Christians and Yazidis, we are allowing ISIS and other criminals to get away with it. "

For their part, the experts of the International Religious Freedom Commission do not hesitate to speak of "genocide":

“In addition, the religious and ethnic minorities that the Islamic State had chosen for genocide, such as Yazidis and Christians, continue to face extreme uncertainty as to whether conditions would allow them to return to their communities. original. "

According to their latest report, the Iraqi government lacks the "capacity to provide adequate security to vulnerable ethnic and religious minorities." If the Islamic State group "avoids large-scale military clashes with Iraqi, Kurdish or international forces", it continues to carry out "small-scale attacks". For the experts, it is a question of preserving the group in the long term. In 2018, the report denounced “at least 75 attacks per month in Iraq”.

“In short, the Islamic State has temporarily retreated into the shadows, but remains a serious and imminent threat, especially to vulnerable minority communities in northern Iraq, who are already the main target of intolerance violence of the group since its appearance in 2014. "

These communities have been subjected to a context of violence and tension for more than 15 years. It is, according to USCIRF experts, this climate that allowed the rise of the Islamic State in 2014:

“And the same conditions persist in 2018 despite the group's defeat as an occupying force the year before. "

In terms of demographics, the populations of religious minorities had already been reduced significantly, but the decline has continued in the past 4 years.

“Iraq is particularly at risk of losing its old Christian community, the number of which has declined dramatically over the past 15 years. According to Christian leaders, there are now less than 250 Christians in Iraq, up from a pre-000 estimate of 2003 million. "

Some Christians from the Assyrian and Chaldean Christian communities returned to the Nineveh Plain, notably to Qaraqosh. But this is not the case with the majority.

“Most of them have not yet returned, however, as the lack of restored infrastructure, ISIS traps and unexploded ordnance, and lingering fears of an ISIS resurgence have prevented many Christian displaced people from returning to Mosul or to villages in its social and economic orbit. "

Other obstacles to this return, the destruction of agricultural infrastructure, wells, crops, which places rural communities in a delicate situation, but also the discrimination experienced by Yazidis victims of rape by Islamists.

“Hundreds of freed Yazidis are now faced with an impossible choice, because they carried children born of sexual assault by ISIS personnel while in captivity. They face ostracism from communities of origin whose traditional leaders insist on being able to return home, but their children, born to non-Yazidi genocidal fathers and potentially numerous, would have no place among them. "

Those who have chosen to return to their ancestral lands are also faced with illegal expropriation, following their temporary displacement when they were fleeing the Islamic State. More than 300 Christian properties are in the process of being re-registered with the authorities.

There is also the problem of the religion listed on the identity card, which requires identifying as Muslim a child whose parent is Muslim.

“This reinforces existing restrictions, which prevent Muslims from changing their religious identity on their ID cards after converting to another religion. Christian leaders have said that in some cases, families officially registered as Muslims but practicing Christianity have fled to avoid registering their children as Muslims or to keep their children undocumented. "

However, specialists note some "attempts at progress" by the Iraqi government, including the establishment of a national holiday on December 25 "in honor of Iraqi Christians".

MC

Image Credit: serkan senturk / Shutterstock.com

© Info Chrétienne - Short partial reproduction authorized followed by a link "Read more" to this page.

SUPPORT CHRISTIAN INFO

Info Chrétienne being an online press service recognized by the Ministry of Culture, your donation is tax deductible up to 66%.

En Irak, les chrétiens et les yézidies subissent un « nettoyage ethnique »

Chaque semaine, la rédaction d’Info Chrétienne vous propose un article focus sur la situation des chrétiens dans le monde. Aujourd’hui, l’Irak.

Tim Stanley se tenait devant le Parlement britannique la semaine dernière. De retour d’Irak, dans la plaine de Ninive, l’historien et chroniqueur au Telegraph a tenu à alerter les parlementaires. Pour lui, les yézidies et les chrétiens subissent un « nettoyage ethnique » :

« Si nous ne disons pas ce qui se passe réellement dans la région, à savoir le nettoyage ethnique des chrétiens et des yézidis, nous permettons à l’État islamique et à d’autres criminels de s’en tirer à bon compte. »

Pour leur part, les experts de la Commission de la liberté religieuse internationale n’hésitent pas à parler de « génocide » :

« En outre, les minorités religieuses et ethniques que l’État islamique avait choisies pour génocide, telles que les yézidis et les chrétiens, continuent de faire face à une incertitude extrême quant au fait de savoir si les conditions leur permettraient de retourner dans leurs communautés d’origine. »

Selon leur dernier rapport, le gouvernement irakien n’a pas la « capacité d’assurer une sécurité adéquate aux minorités ethniques et religieuses vulnérables ». Si le groupe État Islamique « évite les affrontements militaires à grande échelle avec les forces irakiennes, kurdes ou internationales », il continue de mener des « attaques à petites échelles ». Pour les experts, il s’agit de préserver le groupe sur le long terme. En 2018, le rapport dénonce « au moins 75 attaques par mois en Irak ».

« En bref, l’État Islamique s’est temporairement retiré dans l’ombre, mais reste une menace grave et imminente, en particulier pour les communautés minoritaires vulnérables du nord de l’Irak, qui sont déjà la cible principale de l’intolérance violente du groupe depuis son apparition en 2014. »

Ces communautés subissent un contexte de violence et de tensions depuis plus de 15 ans. C’est, selon les experts de l’USCIRF, ce climat qui a permis la montée de l’État Islamique en 2014 :

« Et les mêmes conditions persistent en 2018 malgré la défaite du groupe en tant que force d’occupation l’année précédente. »

En terme de démographie, les populations des minorités religieuses avaient déjà été réduites de manière significative, mais le déclin s’est poursuivi dans les 4 dernières années.

« L’Irak risque particulièrement de perdre son ancienne communauté chrétienne, dont le nombre a considérablement diminué au cours des 15 dernières années. Selon les dirigeants chrétiens, il y a maintenant moins de 250 000 chrétiens en Irak, contre une estimation d’avant 2003 de 1,4 million. »

Certains chrétiens des communautés chrétiennes assyrienne et chaldéenne sont retournés dans la plaine de Ninive, notamment à Qaraqosh. Mais ce n’est pas le cas de la majorité.

« La plupart d’entre eux ne sont toutefois pas encore revenus, car l’absence d’infrastructures restaurées, les pièges de l’Etat islamique et les munitions non explosées, et les craintes persistantes d’une résurgence de l’Etat islamique ont empêché de nombreuses personnes déplacées chrétiennes de retourner à Mossoul ou dans des villages de son orbite sociale et économique. »

Autres obstacles à ce retour, la destruction des infrastructures agricoles, des puits, des cultures, qui place les communautés rurales dans une situation délicate, mais aussi la discrimination vécue par les yézidies victimes de viol par les islamistes.

« Des centaines de yézidies libérées sont désormais confrontées à un impossible choix, parce qu’elles ont porté des enfants nés d’agressions sexuelles commises par des membres du personnel de l’État Islamique pendant leur captivité. Elles font face à l’ostracisme des communautés d’origine dont les dirigeants traditionnels insistent pour pouvoir rentrer chez eux, mais leurs enfants, nés de pères génocidaires non-yézidis et potentiellement nombreux, n’auraient aucune place parmi eux. »

Ceux qui ont fait le choix du retour dans leurs terres ancestrales sont également confrontés à l’expropriation illégale, suite à leur déplacement temporaire quand ils fuyaient l’État Islamique. Plus de 300 propriétés chrétiennes sont en cours de réenregistrement auprès des autorités.

Reste également le problème de la religion inscrite sur la carte d’identité, qui impose d’identifier comme musulman un enfant dont un des parents est musulman.

« Cela renforce les restrictions existantes, qui empêchent les musulmans de modifier leur identité religieuse sur leurs cartes d’identité après leur conversion vers une autre religion. Les dirigeants chrétiens ont déclaré que, dans certains cas, les familles officiellement enregistrées comme musulmanes mais pratiquant le christianisme se sont enfuies pour éviter d’enregistrer leurs enfants en tant que musulmans ou pour que leurs enfants restent sans papiers. »

Les spécialistes notent cependant quelques « tentatives de progrès » du gouvernement irakien, notamment l’instauration d’une fête nationale, le 25 décembre, « en l’honneur des chrétiens irakiens ».

M.C.

Crédit Image : serkan senturk / Shutterstock.com

© Info Chrétienne - Courte reproduction partielle autorisée suivie d'un lien "Lire la suite" vers cette page.

SOUTENIR INFO CHRÉTIENNE

Info Chrétienne étant un service de presse en ligne reconnu par le Ministère de la Culture, votre don est déductible de vos impôts à hauteur de 66%.