Nice: A priest and a nun attacked with a knife in a church by an "unbalanced"

Father Krzysztof Rudzinski and a nun who tried to intervene were injured in a knife attack in a parish in Nice. The 31-year-old alleged attacker would have made “several stays in a psychiatric hospital” and his gesture would “not have a terrorist character a priori”.

A visibly "unbalanced" Frenchman and victim of psychiatric disorders seriously injured a priest of Polish origin with a knife on Sunday morning in a church in Nice, in the south of France, but his gesture would not have any jihadist character.

The attack was announced by Interior Minister Gérald Darmanin in a tweet. “An attack took place this morning in a church in Nice. The priest is injured. No vital prognosis involved. Solidarity with the parishioners and thank you to the police who quickly arrested the author,” wrote Minister Gérald Darmanin.

Shortly before a mass at 10 a.m., a man entered the Saint-Pierre-d'Arène church, carrying "several stab wounds to the priest", told AFP Maud Marty, deputy prosecutor in Nice.

The victim, Father Krzysztof Rudzinski, of Polish origin, settled in this parish for more than 10 years, was transferred to the hospital, mainly injured in the chest. A nun was also slightly injured in one hand while trying to intervene, according to French justice.

The alleged attacker, aged 31, struck his victim with a blade of about ten centimeters. He was quickly arrested and placed in police custody, but this was lifted in the evening, for medical reasons, with the hospitalization of the defendant in a psychiatric unit, indicated the public prosecutor of Nice, Xavier Fellow.

An investigation has been opened for attempted murder and intentional violence with a weapon.

The national anti-terrorist prosecutor's office has been notified, but has not yet taken up the investigation in view of the first information provided.

"The investigation is continuing under the direction of the Nice prosecutor's office, the national anti-terrorist prosecutor's office not seizing it," added Mr. Bonhomme. The investigation was entrusted to the judicial police of Nice.

“The motives for the act are to date and at this time difficult to establish”, insisted the prosecutor, specifying that the attacker was not known on the judicial level and was followed psychiatrically.

According to police sources, this man, named Kevin, of French nationality and born in Fréjus (south of France), is "manifestly bipolar" and his gesture would have "no terrorist character a priori": "He spontaneously declared to the police force that he was of the Jewish faith and that on this election day he wanted to kill Macron and that he had finally fallen back on a church”.

This man would have made “several stays in a psychiatric hospital”, indicated the mayor of the city, Christian Estrosi.

Nice has been traumatized by several deadly jihadist attacks in the past.

On October 29, 2020, a Tunisian, Brahim Aouissaoui, burst into the basilica in Nice and stabbed three people to death. He had been indicted for "assassinations and attempted assassination in connection with a terrorist enterprise".

And on July 14, 2016, Mohamed Lahouaiej-Bouhlel, a Tunisian living in Nice, drove into the crowd at the wheel of a 19-tonne truck, mowing down dozens of people for two minutes, before being shot dead by the police. The attack, which killed 86 people, will be the subject of a trial in September.

Editorial staff (with AFP)

Image credit: Creative Commons / Wikimedia

© Info Chrétienne - Short partial reproduction authorized followed by a link "Read more" to this page.

SUPPORT CHRISTIAN INFO

Info Chrétienne being an online press service recognized by the Ministry of Culture, your donation is tax deductible up to 66%.

Nice : Un prêtre et une religieuse agressés au couteau dans une église par un « déséquilibré »

Le père Krzysztof Rudzinski et une religieuse qui a tenté de s’interposer, ont été blessés lors d’une attaque au couteau dans une paroisse de Nice. L’agresseur présumé âgé de 31 ans aurait fait « plusieurs séjours en hôpital psychiatrique » et son geste n’aurait « pas de caractère terroriste a priori ».

Un Français visiblement « déséquilibré » et victime de troubles psychiatriques a grièvement blessé à coups de couteau dimanche matin un prêtre d’origine polonaise dans une église à Nice, dans le sud de la France, mais son geste n’aurait aucun caractère jihadiste.

L’agression a été annoncée par le ministre de l’Intérieur Gérald Darmanin dans un tweet. « Une agression a eu lieu ce matin dans une église de Nice. Le prêtre est blessé. Pas de pronostic vital engagé. Solidarité avec les paroissiens et merci aux forces de l’ordre qui ont interpellé rapidement l’auteur », a écrit le ministre Gérald Darmanin.

Peu avant une messe à 10h, un homme est entré dans l’église Saint-Pierre-d’Arène, portant « plusieurs coups de couteau au prêtre », a dit à l’AFP Maud Marty, procureure adjointe à Nice.

La victime, le père Krzysztof Rudzinski, d’origine polonaise, installé dans cette paroisse depuis plus de 10 ans, a été transférée à l’hôpital, blessée essentiellement au thorax. Une religieuse a également été légèrement blessée à une main en tentant de s’interposer, selon la justice française.

L’agresseur présumé, âgé de 31 ans, a frappé sa victime avec une lame d’une dizaine de centimètres. Il a rapidement été interpellé et placé en garde à vue mais celle-ci a été levée dans la soirée, pour raisons médicales, avec l’hospitalisation du mis en cause dans une unité psychiatrique, a indiqué le procureur de la République de Nice, Xavier Bonhomme.

Une enquête a été ouverte pour tentative d’homicide volontaire et violences volontaires avec arme.

Le parquet national antiterroriste a été avisé, mais ne s’est pas pour l’instant saisi de l’enquête au vu des premiers éléments d’information communiqués.

« L’enquête se poursuit sous la direction du parquet de Nice, le parquet national antiterroriste ne se saisissant pas », a ajouté M. Bonhomme. L’enquête a été confiée à la police judiciaire de Nice.

« Les mobiles du passage à l’acte sont à ce jour et à cette heure difficiles à établir », a insisté le procureur, précisant que l’agresseur n’était pas connu sur le plan judiciaire et était suivi psychiatriquement.

De source policière, cet homme, prénommé Kevin, de nationalité française et né à Fréjus (sud de la France), est « manifestement bipolaire » et son geste n’aurait « pas de caractère terroriste a priori »: « Il a spontanément déclaré aux effectifs de police qu’il était de confession juive et qu’en ce jour d’élection, il voulait tuer Macron et qu’il s’était finalement rabattu sur une église ».

Cet homme aurait fait « plusieurs séjours en hôpital psychiatrique », a indiqué le maire de la ville, Christian Estrosi.

Nice a été traumatisée par plusieurs attentats jihadistes meurtriers dans le passé.

Le 29 octobre 2020, un Tunisien, Brahim Aouissaoui, avait fait irruption dans la basilique de Nice et tué trois personnes à coups de couteau. Il avait été mis en examen pour « assassinats et tentative d’assassinat en relation avec une entreprise terroriste ».

Et le 14 juillet 2016, Mohamed Lahouaiej-Bouhlel, Tunisien demeurant à Nice, avait foncé sur la foule au volant d’un camion de 19 tonnes, fauchant des dizaines de personnes pendant deux minutes, avant d’être abattu par la police. L’attentat, qui avait fait 86 morts, fera l’objet d’un procès en septembre.

La rédaction (avec l’AFP)

Crédit image : Creative Commons / Wikimedia

© Info Chrétienne - Courte reproduction partielle autorisée suivie d'un lien "Lire la suite" vers cette page.

SOUTENIR INFO CHRÉTIENNE

Info Chrétienne étant un service de presse en ligne reconnu par le Ministère de la Culture, votre don est déductible de vos impôts à hauteur de 66%.