2021 in retrospect: Myanmar

Our retrospective of the year 2021 continues with today a focus on Myanmar.

February 1, Myanmar military coup against democratic government of Aung San Suu Kyi. A coup strongly condemned by the United Nations, which at the time reaffirmed its "unwavering support for the people of Myanmar in their quest for democracy, peace, human rights and rule of law ”.

As a result of this seizure of power, a Civil Disobedience Movement was born, peaceful protests which were largely suppressed by the army and which led to a wave of violence in the country, which continues to this day. .

In Myanmar, there are 4,4 million Christians out of a population of 54,8 million, according to the NGO Open Doors, which ranks the country 18th in its annual world index of religious persecution. This coup had aroused the concern of minorities, including Christians, who feared persecution.

A justified fear since a document discovered by Barnabas Fund in February, revealed that soldiers were encouraged to "punish and destroy" Christians from ethnic minorities as well as other civilians opposed to the military regime.

However, despite the threats and the increase in manifestations of violence by the military junta, the population continued to protest peacefully, determined to restore democracy.

The Archbishop of Yangon, Cardinal Charles Maung Bo ndb who is also president of the Myanmar Bishops' Conference, greeted "The incredible courage, commitment and creativity" of the Burmese people. He also spoke of the “tenacity” and “resilience” of citizens and in particular of young people who continue to protest despite the violent repressions of the army to silence them.

On February 28, the country lived a murderous day. The Burmese army used live ammunition as well as water cannons, tear gas and stun grenades against pro-democracy protesters. That weekend we deplored at least 18 deaths across the country.

On this occasion, a nun had distinguished herself by her courage.  Sister Ann Nu Thawng, of the Congregation of Saint François Xavier, institute of diocesan law of Myitkyina had intervened between the forces of the order and the demonstrators. She begged them in tears and on their knees not to open fire on the population who were participating in a peaceful procession allowing a hundred people to escape.

In recent months, we have also reported to you that many places of worship were targeted by the army, especially inChin State, predominantly Christian.

And, on December 4, the town of Thantlang, in Myanmar, was targeted by the Burmese army according to the Chin Human Right Org. Nineteen structures were reportedly destroyed. Among them, the pentecostal church.

The 6 December,  Aung San Suu Kyi was sentenced to four years in prison for inciting public disturbances and violating health rules related to Covid. This sentence, which aroused concern in the international community, was reduced to two years in prison a few hours later.

After his conviction was announced, residents of Rangoon took to the streets to protest. AFP reports that according to analysts, the Burmese army hopes, with the imprisonment of the former leader, to permanently stifle its influence but that new resistance to the junta is gaining ground.

As the military continues to target civilians and destroy homes in several parts of the country, including many churches, analysts told AFP that hundreds of people have fled to rebel-controlled areas for train for combat and retaliate against the army.

To be continued next year!

Camille Westphal Perrier

© Info Chrétienne - Short partial reproduction authorized followed by a link "Read more" to this page.

SUPPORT CHRISTIAN INFO

Info Chrétienne being an online press service recognized by the Ministry of Culture, your donation is tax deductible up to 66%.

Rétrospective 2021 : Myanmar

Notre rétrospective de l’année 2021 continue avec aujourd’hui un focus sur le Myanmar.

Le 1er février, un coup d’Etat perpétré par l’armée a eu lieu au Myanmar contre le gouvernement démocratique d’Aung San Suu Kyi. Un coup d’Etat fermement condamné par l’Organisation des Nations Unies qui avait à l’époque réaffirmé son « soutien indéfectible au peuple du Myanmar dans sa quête de la démocratie, de la paix, des droits de l’homme et de l’état de droit ».

À la suite de cette prise de pouvoir, un Mouvement de désobéissance civile est né, des manifestations pacifiques qui ont été largement réprimées par l’armée et qui ont entrainé une vague de violence dans le pays, qui se poursuit encore à l’heure actuelle.

Au Myanmar, on recense 4,4 millions de chrétiens sur une population de 54,8 millions d’habitants selon l’ONG Portes Ouvertes qui classe le pays 18e dans on index annuel mondial des persécutions religieuses. Ce coup d’Etat avait suscité l’inquiétude des minorités, dont les chrétiens, qui craignaient la persécution.

Une crainte justifiée puisqu’un document découvert par Barnabas Fund en février, révélait que les soldats étaient encouragés à « punir et à détruire » les chrétiens issus des minorités ethniques ainsi que les autres civils opposés au régime militaire.

Pourtant, malgré les menaces et la multiplication des manifestations de violence de la junte militaire la population a continué de protester pacifiquement, bien décidée à rétablir la démocratie.

L’archevêque de Yangon, le cardinal Charles Maung Bo sdb qui est également président de la Conférence épiscopale du Myanmar, avait salué « l’incroyable courage, engagement et créativité » du peuple Birman. Il évoquait également la « ténacité » et la « résilience » des citoyens et en particuliers des jeunes qui continuent de protester malgré les répressions violentes de l’armée pour les faire taire.

Le 28 février, le pays a vécu une journée meurtrière. L’armée birmane a utilisé des balles réelles ainsi que des canons à eau, du gaz lacrymogène et des grenades assourdissantes contre les manifestants pro-démocratie. Ce weekend là on déplorait au moins 18 morts à travers le pays.

À cette occasion, une religieuse s’était illustrée par son courage.  Sœur Ann Nu Thawng, de la Congrégation de Saint François Xavier, institut de droit diocésain de Myitkyina s’était interposée entre les forces de l’ordres et des manifestants. Elle les avait suppliés en larmes et à genoux de ne pas ouvrir le feu sur la population qui participait à un cortège pacifique permettant à une centaine de personnes de s’échapper.

Ces derniers mois, nous vous avons également rapportés que de nombreux lieux de cultes ont été ciblés par l’armée, notamment dans l’Etat de Chin, à majorité chrétienne.

Et, le 4 décembre dernier, la ville de Thantlang, au Myanmar, a été prise pour cible par l’armée birmane selon la Chin Human Right Org. Dix-neuf structures auraient été détruites. Parmi elles, l’église pentecôtiste.

Le 6 décembre,  Aung San Suu Kyi a été condamnée à quatre ans de prison pour incitation aux troubles publics et violation des règles sanitaires liées au Covid. Cette peine, qui a suscité l’inquiétude de la communauté internationale, a été réduite à deux ans de prison quelques heures heures plus tard.

Après l’annonce de sa condamnation, des habitants de Rangoun sont descendus dans les rues pour protester. L’AFP rapporte que selon des analystes, l’armée birmane espère, avec l’emprisonnement de l’ex-dirigeante, étouffer définitivement son influence mais qu’une nouvelle résistance à la junte gagne du terrain.

Alors que dans plusieurs régions du pays, l’armée continue de cibler les civils et de détruire les habitations dont de nombreuses églises, des analystes ont révélés à l’AFP que des centaines de personnes se sont rendues dans des zones contrôlées par les rebelles pour s’entraîner au combat et riposter contre l’armée.

Affaire à suivre l’année prochaine !

Camille Westphal Perrier

© Info Chrétienne - Courte reproduction partielle autorisée suivie d'un lien "Lire la suite" vers cette page.

SOUTENIR INFO CHRÉTIENNE

Info Chrétienne étant un service de presse en ligne reconnu par le Ministère de la Culture, votre don est déductible de vos impôts à hauteur de 66%.