For the Vatican, the James Webb telescope reveals the “extraordinary power” of God

Stunning images of galaxies formed shortly after the Big Bang, transmitted by the James Webb Telescope, reveal God's "extraordinary power" and "His love of beauty", the Vatican Astronomical Observatory said Thursday.

“We are very excited about the new images coming from the Webb Telescope! These images are magnificent (…). It's a tantalizing glimpse of what we can learn about the universe in the future,” observatory director Guy Consolmagno said in a statement.

“The science behind this telescope is our attempt to use the intelligence God gave us to understand the logic of the universe. Because the universe wouldn't work if it wasn't logical,” he added.

But the universe, he also pointed out, “is not only logical, it is also beautiful”. "It is the work of God revealed to us, and in it we can see both His extraordinary power and His love of beauty."

Guy Consolmagno says he is particularly "delighted" to discover the first sign of water vapor in the atmosphere of an exo-planet:

“150 years after Father Angelo Secchi added a prism to the lens of his telescope on the roof of the Church of St. Ignatius in Rome, and made the first spectral measurements of the atmospheres of planets in our own solar system. »

The divine origin of the universe remains the invariable creed of the Catholic Church, but its scientific doctrine has clearly evolved in the last century. Thus in 1992, Pope John Paul II had definitively rehabilitated Galileo, condemned in 1633 by the Roman judges of the Inquisition for having supported the thesis of the Polish scientist Nicolas Copernicus (1473-1543), according to which the Earth rotates on itself and around the sun.

The Editorial Board (with AFP)

© Info Chrétienne - Short partial reproduction authorized followed by a link "Read more" to this page.

SUPPORT CHRISTIAN INFO

Info Chrétienne being an online press service recognized by the Ministry of Culture, your donation is tax deductible up to 66%.

Pour le Vatican, le télescope James Webb révèle « l’extraordinaire pouvoir » de Dieu

Les images stupéfiantes de galaxies formées peu après le Big Bang, transmises par le télescope James Webb, révèlent « l’extraordinaire puissance » de Dieu et « Son amour de la beauté », a estimé jeudi l’Observatoire astronomique du Vatican.

« Nous sommes très enthousiasmés par les nouvelles images venant du télescope Webb! Ces images sont magnifiques (…). C’est un aperçu alléchant de ce que nous pourrons apprendre sur l’univers dans le futur », a déclaré dans un communiqué le directeur de l’observatoire, Guy Consolmagno.

« La science à l’origine de ce télescope est notre tentative d’utiliser l’intelligence dont nous a dotés Dieu pour comprendre la logique de l’univers. Car l’univers ne fonctionnerait pas s’il n’était pas logique », a-t-il ajouté.

Mais l’univers, a-t-il aussi souligné, « n’est pas seulement logique, il est aussi beau ».  » C’est l’oeuvre de Dieu à nous révélée, et en elle nous pouvons voir à la fois Son extraordinaire pouvoir et Son amour de la beauté ».

Guy Consolmagno se dit particulièrement « ravi » de découvrir le premier signe de vapeur d’eau dans l’atmopshère d’une exo-planète :

« 150 ans après que le père Angelo Secchi eut ajouté un prisme devant la lentille de son télescope sur le toit de l’Eglise Saint-Ignace de Rome, et effectué les premières mesures spectrales des atmosphères des planètes de notre propre système solaire. »

L’origine divine de l’univers reste le credo invariable de l’Eglise catholique mais sa doctrine scientifique a nettement évolué au siècle dernier. Ainsi en 1992, le pape Jean-Paul II avait-il définitivement réhabilité Galilée, condamné en 1633 par les juges romains de l’Inquisition pour avoir soutenu la thèse du savant polonais Nicolas Copernic (1473-1543), selon laquelle la Terre tourne sur elle-même et autour du soleil.

La Rédaction (avec AFP)

© Info Chrétienne - Courte reproduction partielle autorisée suivie d'un lien "Lire la suite" vers cette page.

SOUTENIR INFO CHRÉTIENNE

Info Chrétienne étant un service de presse en ligne reconnu par le Ministère de la Culture, votre don est déductible de vos impôts à hauteur de 66%.